Adobe Photoshop vs Adobe Illustrator

Discussion in 'Web Development, Programming & Graphics' started by Casiox, Jul 21, 2016.

1. Casiox

Casiox New Member

Well, I am a graphics designer but I personally like using Photoshop way more than Illustrator, I got better management with Photoshop, however, I was thinking about starting to use Illustrator for logos and big sized images or vectors, what do you think about these two programs, which one do you like the most?

2. MrMashFace

MrMashFace New Member

Sorry for being so late to this thread and sorry my reply might not be too in-depth as I my only experience with either program was limited when I worked/intern'ed as an editor. It honestly depends on the kind of job for me; if I am going to want to work on something that will be printed out as a banner or something else large I will usually use Illustrator because vector images don't pixel tear like raster images on Photoshop does, and if I am going to completely rework an image for a website and it isn't too big scale I prefer Photoshop heavily because there isn't as much control in Illustrator over your image as there is in Photoshop. The reason Photoshop isn't preferred sometimes is because it uses bitmap imaging, but that is also the only reason people would pick Photoshop over Illustrator as well because the bitmap graphics is what gives you complete control of every pixel in the image rather than Illustrators' vector images that don't necessarily have pixels to control. So, it seems like a really dumb answer, but it honestly depends on the job and the specific use for the finished work.

3. hoover.dam22

hoover.dam22 New Member

I believe Illustrator is more used by people to edit images, while photoshop is used a bit more for design. You commonly hear of illustrator being used by people like wedding photographers, wheras a graphic designer might opt to use Photoshop. I use Photoshop because I find it easier.

4. ArtsyViolinist

ArtsyViolinist New Member