Does anyone else find it hard to write non-fiction?

Discussion in 'Freelance Writing Challenges' started by wizerlygee, Jul 9, 2017.

1. wizerlygee

wizerlygee New Member

I love to write, and I really prefer writing creative stuff, however it's harder to find a creative writing gig. I find it so hard to write articles. I'll try to begin something, but it doesn't flow well, and I get exasperated. When it comes to writing a short story-now you're talking. Any suggestions on how to improve?

2. Obanro

Obanro New Member

I get your point; as a freelance writer, i was once like you but things changed over time. First, you need to start by trying to give your views on other peoples post, criticize and review articles written by other, when doing this, you will start to see where things went wrong in the write up and how they could be corrected, then start writing your base on your sites using these tips;

1. Research on a topic.
    2. Take a note while researching.
    3. Form/come up with a title and create sub-tiles too.
    4. Start with an introduction of 2-3 paragraphs and write the body in a friendly tone.
    5 Conlude your article and you are done.

3. Steve Owen

Steve Owen New Member

@Obanro: I beg to disagree with your points. Fiction writing is very different from non-fiction writing. The points you listed above could do for fiction writing but it won't work for non-fiction.

If you want to write non-fiction, you should only write on what you have personal experience in because when you're done and you publish the work, people are going to ask you questions or try to relate with what you have written and if it seems you made up what you wrote, you'll a lot of Goodwill and trust. If you're in America and an Indian in Mumbai wrote something about New York when he has never left his country, would his write-up sound convincing to you?