How do you find inspiration for writing?

Discussion in 'Freelance Writing Challenges' started by Ana Dilan, May 26, 2017.

1. Ana Dilan

Ana Dilan New Member

I am a freelance writer and I am always trying to find inspiration. If you happen to have a writer's block, get away from the computer for a couple of hours. Go for a walk to clear your head and try again later.
    I discovered that I have more inspiration when I am working outdoors. I love to be in the nature when I write.
    Another good tip is to start working early in the morning. Complete most of your work then because your power of concentration will be higher during the first hours.
    How do you find inspiration for writing?

Chai likes this.
  2. Vyck

Vyck New Member

For me, nights are when I'm at my best. I cannot write in the mornings for my life. I also love writing outdoors. If I cannot go outdoors, I love listening to music while writing. Some good instrumental music usually helps me keep motivated and inspired

3. ZoeEllen

ZoeEllen New Member

I also work better at night. I find I don't have much motivation during the day, and writers block starts becoming a nightmare! Music I find very inspiring, as well as taking a break from the laptop. I find if I'm online for too long then I start to get bored and start to lose motivation.

4. hwarren126

hwarren126 New Member

As a rule, I will get a jolt of inspiration from going on a sightseeing ride here in rural North Carolina. We are only a few hours from the Atlantic Ocean one way and a few hours from Asheville and the mountains the other way. Plus the natural beauty of the rolling hills along the way will most often set my mind going in a new direction that puts some words where they need to go.

5. SimplyD

SimplyD New Member

I have my full-time job, so finding an inspiration for writing is a must. I don't have actually so much time to think of what I write.