i want to gain weight

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by GirlieTM, Sep 20, 2016.

1. GirlieTM

GirlieTM New Member

I'm honestly desperate to gain weight...but everyone else thinks it's a bad idea.

amandasjay and applejoy like this.
  2. wezegan

wezegan New Member

Well it depends, I'm a medical student and you have to know your BMI or Body Mass Index, that index will tell you if you have underweight, overweight and obesity. Another fact is that you have to know there are two kinds of gaining weight, you can gain weight by doing exercise and eating proteins (Increasing your muscle mass) and you can gain weight by eating a lot of carbohydrates, sugars and gain fat! That is not healthy! But you can always do exercise and eat proteins to gain muscle mass and that is actually very healthy!

smresar likes this.
  3. FatManXX

FatManXX New Member

If the weight you're gaining comes from body fat, then yes, it is a bad idea to gain weight. A high body fat percentage can cause health problems such as cardiovascular diseases, atherosclerosis, and many other problems. But if you want to gain muscle it's a completely different story. An increase in muscle mass you'll give you more bone density, make you stronger and more athletic in general. Just focus on gaining muscle and keep your body fat at around 10% to 15% and you'll be good! Hope this helps!

4. PlayfulPage

PlayfulPage New Member

Being underweight is a tremendous pain to suffer and wanting to gain wait is naturally a good solution to that. Despite the comments provided above, it is important to have some fat for warmth and body stability. Too much attention is brought to loss of fat, gaining weight can be a big benefit! Regardless, talk to your doctor. Your scale and your index are loose measurements that aren't reliable measurements, but a medical judgement on if your body needs more or less can be much more useful.

5. Tyrone Spears

Tyrone Spears New Member