Poetry Writing

Discussion in 'Fiction Writing' started by SpaceReal, Sep 1, 2018.

1. SpaceReal

SpaceReal New Member

It seems that not many people around here talk about poetry.

I'm a poetry writer, mostly, and I was curious to learn about other's opinion on poems.
    Sometimes I think poetry is not really considered a form of writing, but I actually find it to be on of the most expressive ways to communicate.

Music wouldn't be the same without poems, as that's the way a lot of great lyrics are made, and a poem really melds the way between speaking and singing.

So, are there any other poets around? What are your thoughts?
    Do you enjoy reading books but not poetry?

2. ewapc101

ewapc101 Member

If you want to become a better writer, the best thing you can do is practice writing every single day. Writing prompts are useful because we know sometimes it can be hard to think of what to write about!
    To help you brainstorm, we put together this list of 365 creative writing prompts to give you something to write about daily. Whether you write short stories, poems, or like to keep a journal – these will stretch your imagination and give you some ideas for topics to write about!

3. MrsSBeaumont

MrsSBeaumont New Member

I sometimes write poetry if I have a very specific feeling or thought that I need to write down quickly. Poetry feels like the easiest way to get those strong emotions out on to paper. I don't know if any of these poems are any good, but I like the challenge of writing them.

4. GeorgeSebastiaan

GeorgeSebastiaan New Member

I am striving to become a songwriter, but I'm probably more of a poet at this stage. When I think of a song idea, I write down the lyrics or I compose a piece on the guitar. I have only managed to do both of those things together a few times, so I have half a book of (finished- and unfinished-) poems, and half a brain full of instrumentals yearning for a voice over.

5. Joycee21

Joycee21 New Member