The Ratings Nightmare

Discussion in 'General Postloop Discussion' started by ROBOLB, Aug 20, 2016.

1. ROBOLB

ROBOLB New Member

I'm fairly new to PostLoop (6 months) and have been using it to boost the content on a fairly slow forum.

The whole topic of ratings is starting to make me question my long term use of Post Loop. I understand it's a complex and delicate issue and my apologies if I still don't grasp the nuances.

I use the rating system in a simple away to keep posters who are adding value and to block posters whose content I deem to be below the standard I require. If I don't set a rating required level, I will end up with nonsense posts about gaming which has nothing to do with my forum. Been there. done that.

So rating seems to be the only tool at my disposal to 'control' who I allow to post.

The rating system is out of 5. In my mind a 5 is only for outstanding work. I haven't seen any yet, related to my topic. I reckon a 4 is good. that's 80% !

But then I started getting complaints from writers that I wasn't rating high enough. Well quite frankly their work wasn't good enough. Nothing to do with length, but relevance.

Today I'm in 'message ping pong' with a writer who is complaining about ratings, in that it affects his overall average and his income per post. I was not aware of that impact. I don't think it's made very clear to site owners.

Also there is an option to make the rating anonymous, which I thought might help avoid confrontation, but it seems that Anonymous doesn't actually mean Anonymous. Go figure.

So my dilemma now is, do I:

1. Re rate my best writers to 5, and set the minimum rating at 4.9. But that will preclude most new writers.
    2. Stop rating at all.
    3. Stop using PostLoop.

My first reaction to complaints, was that who are these people who feel so entitled to a higher rating, when their work is clearly not good enough...