Which is worse, failing or never trying?

Discussion in 'Everything Else' started by nakama.strong, Dec 29, 2011.

1. nakama.strong

nakama.strong New Member

Are there any benefits of failing a task? Should an individual attempt a task that has a high probability of failure?

I think that when people fail, they feel as if they wasted their time. Is failure worth the disappointment? What do you think?

2. waterhands

waterhands New Member

Unless we're talking about trying just for the sake of it, I would say that I would rather fail than never try. But it all depends on how important that task is for someone, I guess. I'll give you an example: I studied contemporary dance and choreography, and was never really brilliant at either of them. When I had the opportunity to choreograph and dance my own dance solo, I went ahead and did it, even though I was really scared and I knew there were strong chances nobody would like it. Hadn't I done that, I would be left wondering for the rest of my days. There are other things I just wouldn't be bothered trying though, because they aren't important to me.

3. theinvoker

theinvoker New Member

I always believed that you will never know what could have happened or what could your full potential be if until you at least try. Not giving your shot at the things you want to do is worse than failing. Always remember that experience is the best teacher. When you fail, you can try again until you get what you want, because your mistakes at the first try can guide you to achieve your goals. And the successful people out there are not that perfect. They all have their own ups and downs in their life, and failing is one of them, but this failure serve as an inspiration for them to be better, or the best at what they do in life. I would rather fail, than not that try. I do not want blame myself when the time comes for not trying anything at all..

4. Abigailjane

Abigailjane New Member