Who bought your first computer?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by pids18, Sep 16, 2019.

Tags:
  1. pids18

pids18 New Member

My parents bought my first computer and it was a desktop computer.

2. subhan456f

subhan456f Member

One of the first accessories I got for it was a cartridge that had a version of BASIC in it, and i ended up typing in the code for several text-based games, from some books i got.

This computer ended up being more or less responsible for my becoming a computer professional. At the time I worked as a machinist, and was having a personal crisis about my work (which I was learning was rather unhealthful in the long term — for one thing all the guys I new who had been machinists for about 20 years or so tended to be missing the tips of one or more fingers, and to have at least one eye injury.) I myself had had an accident with a band-saw and damned near cut off 2 of my fingers around the first knuckle, and had in the preceding year had to go to an ER to have iron filings pulled out of one eye. I had also recently learned that almost every metal i was cutting had lead in it, and was feeling increasingly concerned about the toxicity of the smoke and fumes emitted when cutting metal (mostly from burning lubricants used in the cutting process). I had been staring absent-mindedly at my little computer set-up, and suddenly experienced an epiphany, “people get paid to make computers do things!” I almost immediately enrolled in a vocational school to become an electronics technician, and over a period of about 3 years taught myself a couple of programming languages, and managed to get hired at a start-up company as a programmer! And that was how i became a computer professional.

3. Rexway4

Rexway4 Member

This question look some how to answer, my parent purchase a new laptop for me and my younger brother we started learning from here and get our knowledge well advance in computer field.